Red Hawks announce spring academic honors

Red Hawks announce spring academic honors

HICKORY, N.C. — The Catawba Valley Community College athletic department announces its academic honors for the spring 2018 semester.

A total of 25 student athletes for the Red Hawks made either the President's and Athletic Director's List due to their strong performance in the classroom this past spring.

"Coming off one of our best athletic years, it was exciting to see student athletes succeed in the classroom, as well," said Catawba Valley Athletic Director Nick Schroeder. "All of these students were willing to work hard in the classroom and on the field. For all of those who are graduating or transferring, we look for them to continue their successes."

Ten of those 25 names are on the Presidents List, which is for student athletes with a grade point average of 3.75 or higher. Eight of those 10 names belong to the Catawba Valley baseball program, including Madisyn Bolin, David Graves, Willie Gordon, David Kennedy, Jimmy Marcelli, Trent McKay, Josh Rice and Matt Yarbrough.

The final two members of the Presidents List are women's basketball players — freshmen Kanijah King-Cooper and Monique McAbee.

Fifteen student athletes reached the Athletic Director's List, which is for student athletes with at least a 3.2 grade point average or higher.

The Athletic Director's List is comprised of seven baseball players, including Daniel Brinegar, Tyler Campbell, Kevin Gonzalez, Drew Latham, Kyran Russ, Sabion Thomas and Thomas Walden.

Five Catawba Valley volleyball players — Leslie Leonard, Adair Melton, Sabrina Pinard, Hailey Tatu and Emilee Webber — also made the Athletic Director's List, as well as three Red Hawk women's basketball players — Nicole Lyerly, Nikkyana McCaskill and Alizeyah Mitchell.