Red Hawks’ McFall, Young named All-Region performers

Red Hawks’ McFall, Young named All-Region performers

HICKORY, N.C. — Catawba Valley Community College men's basketball players Jonathan McFall and Sal-Bey Young have been honored by Region 10 for their play on the court.

The sophomore duo were both named All-Region 10 performers during the South Atlantic District tournament held this past week at North Carolina Wesleyan in Rocky Mount, N.C.

McFall was selected All-Region first team, while Young was selected to the All-Region third team.

A total of 20 players from the Region were selected for the honors — five players each on the first, second and third teams and five honorable mentions.

"I am very happy and proud of the honors these guys received," said Catawba Valley head men's basketball coach Bryan Garmroth. "I wish all of our sophomores could have been named All-Region. I know that is not possible, but the attitude, leadership and work ethic of this group of sophomores was incredible."

A 6-foot-5 guard from Nassau, Bahamas, McFall finished his sophomore season averaging a team-best 17.5 points per game to go along with 4.8 rebounds per contest.

He broke several school records during his two-year career at CVCC, finishing as the all-time scoring leader in program history with 716 points and tallying the second-most field goals made in a career (263).

McFall is the second-straight All-Region first team selection, joining former Red Hawk and current Saint Joseph (Conn.) standout Jordan Powell.

"Jonathan had a great season and was worthy of being named first team," Garmroth said. "He also could have had serious consideration for Player of the Year. I am very proud of how much he improved over his two years here because of his work ethic. On and off the court, he is just a great person."

A 6-foot-3 forward from Garner, N.C., Young finished his sophomore season averaging 10.4 points and a team-high 8.0 rebounds per contest. He also led the team in field goal percentage (50.4), edging out McFall (50.1) for that honor.

Young finished his career with the second-most rebounds (398), and he is all-time school leader in blocked shots (46).

"Sal-Bey being named third team is a great honor," Garmroth said. "I felt he was very worthy of at least second team, but that is not to downplay his third team honor. He earned everything he got. He had a tremendous season, and I am very proud of how much he improved also over two years. His work ethic is second to none."

Both McFall and Young, along with fellow sophomores Zach De La Cruz, Byron Sanders, Jahleer Black and Jeremiah Keith, helped guide the Red Hawks to a 22-9 overall record, a 16-6 mark in Region 10 play and a second-place finish in conference standings.

The group of six Red Hawk sophomores are the winningest class of men's basketball players in Catawba Valley Community College history with 44 victories in two seasons.

Below is a complete look at the Region 10 Division II honors:

First Team All-Region
1    Jamarius Hairston        Davidson County        So    G
3    Justus Baldwin        Wake Tech            So    G
23    Michael Armstrong        Wake Tech            So    F
1    Jonathan McFall        Catawba Valley        So    Wing
3    Arion Broadnax        Davidson County        So    G

Second Team All-Region
3    Brandon Burford        Guilford Tech            Fr    PG
1    DeShone Hicks        Louisburg            So    G
20    Shayne Saigo        Guilford Tech            Fr    F
2    Jason Robinson        Lenoir                So    G
10    Darius Huff            Bryant & Stratton        So    F

Third Team All-Region
10    Matisse Edwards        Pitt                So    G
25    Na'Zae Baltimore        Davidson County        Fr    F
11    Antonio Patterson        Louisburg            So    F
24    Sal-Bey Young        Catawba Valley        So    F
4    Collin Lewis            Fayetteville Tech        Fr    G

Honorable Mention All-Region
4    Kamron Humphrey        Wake Tech            Fr    G
11    Jamari Roberts        Bryant & Stratton        So    C
11    Mac Hughes            Guilford Tech        So    G
13    Terrelle Bowens        Louisburg            So    G/F
25    Rovel Ray            Pitt                So    F

Region 10 Player of the Year: Jamarius Hairston, Davidson County
Region 10 Coach of the Year: Matt Ridge, Davidson County