Red Hawks earn split in first day of Owens Invitational

Red Hawks earn split in first day of Owens Invitational

PERRYSBURG, Ohio — The fifth-ranked Catawba Valley Community College volleyball team earned a split in its two matches during the first day of the Owens Invitational on Friday.

The Red Hawks (2-1) dropped a tough match against second-ranked Parkland before finishing the day with a victory against another ranked opponent in Muskegon.

No. 2 Parkland 3, No. 5 Catawba Valley 0

Despite holding them to their lowest hitting percentage in a match this season, the Red Hawks fell in three sets to the Cobras in a match up of top-five nationally ranked programs.

Set scores were 25-14, 25-13 and 25-19.

Emma Clark led Catawba Valley on offense with six kills, Sage Harrington added five kills and Aasia McNeill recorded four kills, three digs and two aces.

Red Hawk setter Macy Pope recorded team-highs in both assists (10) and digs (four).

Ryleigh Warfel (12 kills) and Paige Yoder (eight kills) led the Cobras (10-0), who have not dropped an entire set so far this season.

No. 5 Catawba Valley 3, Muskegon 0

In a "Battle of the Hawks," it was the Red Hawks taking down the Jayhawks in straight sets during the second and final match of the day for CVCC at the Owens Invitational.

Set scores were 25-18, 25-16 and 26-24.

Clark led a balanced offensive attack for the Red Hawks with nine kills. Harrington (eight kills), McNeill (six kills), Meredith Patterson (six kills) and Siena Naotala (five kills) also helped lead the charge on offense for CVCC.

Defensively, Clark tallied a team-best four blocks, Harrington added three blocks and both Naotala and McNeil made two blocks each.

CVCC setters Amber Barker and Macy Pope both recorded 14 assists, and McNeill made the most digs on the team with 11.

The Red Hawks return to action on Saturday for the final day of the Owens Invitational in Perrysburg, Ohio. Catawba Valley plays two matches — against Edison Community College at 10 a.m. and versus Mott Community College at 1:30 p.m.